Sunday, 8 June 2014

Davido and Tiwa Making Nigeria Proud At The 2014 MAMA's; Check Out Full List Of Winners

The return of the MTV Africa Music Awards which took place last night at the International Conference Centre Durban, South Africa. Witness the convergence of Africa's A list stars and personalities as well as a new MTV Trophy handed out to winners at the event. Nigeria's own Davido nabs two big awards for the night as; Best Male Act and Artist of the year, Tiwa Savage took home the award for Best Female Act and the South African duo Mafikizolo taking home the award for Song of the Year with “Khona” – Mafikizolo featuring Uhuru. 
There was also great live performances from the likes of; Fally Ipupa, Michael Lowman, Don Jazzy/Dr Sid,D’Banj, Davido, Uhuru, Mafikizolo, Oskido, Professor, Tiwa Savage, Flavour, Diamond, Phyno, DJ Clock, Beatenberg, DJ Kent,Burna Boy, Sauti Sol, Ice Prince, Sarkodie, The Arrows, Khuli Chana, and international act such as; French Montana, Miguel,and Trey Songz. Afro-Soul star Simphiwe Dana performed a heartfelt tribute to the Late Nelson Mandela to make the night a memorable one. 
The host for the night was the Legendary stand-up comic act and television mogul Marlon Wayans, who kept the audience spellbound with his humour and persona. It was one night Africa won't forget in a hurry and congratulations to all the winners. Check out the list of all winners below:


Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” – Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)

Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)

Song of the Year: “Khona” – Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)

Best International
: Pharrell

Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)

Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Gagasi FM, Yfm and Capricorn FM are the official radio partners of the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards.

For more information on the MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal supported by Absolut & The City of Durban, please go to, like us on Facebook, or follows us on Twitter @MTVBaseAfrica. To join the conversation about the awards please use the hashtag #MTVMAMA.

No comments:

Post a Comment